How to Disable Instagram Suggestions?

In response to TikTok's ongoing expansion, Instagram has recently taken on a more confrontational tone to preserve its position as the preeminent social media platform.

How to Disable Instagram Suggestions?

In response to TikTok’s ongoing expansion, Instagram has recently taken on a more confrontational tone to preserve its position as the preeminent social media platform. However, the Meta-owned network has been criticized for some of the design and algorithm improvements it has experimented with on the platform. Overwhelming recommendations in the primary feed are a common source of user dissatisfaction. The network has been experimenting with various ways to improve the design, including this one.

Instagram announced in July 2022 in response to criticism that it would temporarily decrease the number of suggested posts in the app while it worked to improve its personalization tools. The announcement came after Instagram received the feedback. Nevertheless, the firm has been forthright about the fact that the number of suggested posts will increase as it judges that these postings are more pertinent to the interests and preferences of users.

If you find that Instagram’s recommendations are inappropriate for any reason, you have the option to turn off suggested posts in your feed for 30 days. After you have been shown how to turn it on for the first time, doing so will be second nature. And all you have to do to keep your feed from becoming clogged with suggestions is repeat the process every month. The steps to take are as follows:

  • Start up Instagram and go through your main feed until you come across a “suggested post.”
  • To remove the recommended post from your feed, tap the X in the post’s upper-right corner.
  • On the “Post hidden” card, select the option to “Snooze all suggested feed posts for 30 days,” and then press “Snooze.”

Your option is validated when a checkbox with a green checkmark appears. If you abruptly make a decision that you later regret, you can use the Undo button to go back to the previous list of options.

During the following month, your feed will not contain any posts that were suggested for you to read. You should be aware that suggested posts are separate from ads, which will continue to appear in your feed even after this update has been made. However, after making this change, the amount of material in the app that comes from sources that you do not follow will decrease.

Amanda Silberling
Article By:
Amanda Silberling

I work at Likes Geek as a marketing researcher and journalist with over 5 years of experience in media and content marketing. With a demonstrated history of working in the international news and financial technology publishing industries. I manage content and the editorial team at Likes Geek.

Most Popular

Subscribe us to stay connected to the recent happenings in Social media world.

How to Turn Off Facebook’s Professional Mode in 2023

How to Turn Off Facebook’s Professional Mode in 2023

Professional Mode is intended for developers; hence, it is disabled by default. By activating professional mode, qualified users can use a variety of monetization methods to generate income by creating new content.

Read More!
How to Delete A Story On Facebook?

How to Delete A Story On Facebook?

Facebook Stories are meant to be ephemeral; after 24 hours of gaining likes, comments, and views, they'll automatically delete themselves. What if you wish to delete a story on Facebook instead of waiting for the algorithm to do it?

Read More!